h1

My Bedsit Space, by Sharon Wright

March 24, 2009

Congratulations to Sharon Wright, whose poem ‘My Bedsit Space’ won our Spaces Inside Places competition.

My Bedsit Space

I once lived in a Bedsit

In a shabby part of town

It was so very small and cramped

I could hardly turn around

In the corner was a cooker

Shielded by a screen

A divan lay in the middle

Where I could sleep and dream.

I’d visualise a future

As I gazed at damp old walls

My life would be so perfect

In fact I’d have it all

I’d drive a BMW or maybe a brand new Merc

Owning my own company I’d live and breath my work

My husband would be gorgeous

My kids have high IQ’s

I’d never suffer from PMT

Or ever get baby blues.

My young and silly day dreams

Would dance around the room

Failure not an option

For me no doom and gloom.

Many years have passed by

Since I met the force of fate

Longing is a word now

I hardly contemplate.

But there are pocket moments

When hope shines from my face

Then I’m a foolish girl again

Back in my very own Bedsit Space.

Leave a comment